What’s in a Name? Hunting in South America – A LOT!

What is in a name?  A question I started thinking about as I listen to news, listen to the radio, and read about current events.

We all know the name, Tiger Woods.  The name Michael Jackson means a lot to the world.  Going further the name Coca Cola, Cabelas, Starbucks and so on each has a certain meaning to you.  Los Gauchos Outfitters hopefully means something to the wingshooters and waterfowl hunters looking for a hunting trip in Uruguay and Argentina.

Los Gauchos is about to begin our ninth duck hunting season in South America and our name has become a well known one in the hunting industry.  I am thrilled to realize that Uruguay (and Argentina) duck hunting and Los Gauchos goes hand in hand.  We have worked hard to make it a positive, accurate, well known name that delivers and is more than “just a name”.

I have worked for Los Gauchos Outfitters and stand proud to be a part of the name and everything behind it.  I am about to take a new step and gain a name – CRIDDLE.  I am proud and excited to have the honor of being a Criddle and as I take such pride each and everyday to stand behind and work to make the name Los Gauchos a respected name in the hunting industry, I will do the same with the Criddle name.  For those who do not realize the name Criddle is the backbone of Los Gauchos Outfitters.

I recently read a story about a student who was visiting the Vietnam Memorial and was overwhelmed by the memorials and the names  engraved.  But, I know and she eloquently discovered that all of those engraved names were much more.  They were husbands, sons, grandpas, and friends that had served our country and had their names out for the public to honor and show their respect.  And they were individuals who made a difference and were loved and respected by others.

I have come to the conclusion that a name is more than a brand or the top pop song or idol but a part of an individual that will cherish so many people in life and death that the sight of their name can cause great emotion in those they have touched.

And I take the name as a true Southern Girl would – I eagerly and fully will be known as Ms. Susan (have Louisiana roots – so will never get away from this!) or Mrs. Criddle. No hyphen or combining of the name – my father would wholeheartedly agree .  And with the man that stands behind the name Criddle and his father (Captain Criddle), that played a huge part in the man he is,  it is an absolute honor to have and hold dear.

I look forward to taking on the cherished name of Criddle and feel proud to work and stand behind the name Los Gauchos Outfitters.